About Us

Ettrick and Yarrow Parish comprises three Church buildings situated in Kirkhope (in the village of Ettrickbridge), Yarrow and Ettrick. 

Our congregation holds weekly Sunday services alternating between Kirkhope and  Yarrow throughout the year and we also worship at Ettrick during the spring to autumn each year.

We are part of the Presbytery of Melrose and Peebles which covers a part of the Scottish Borders and is made up of 14 charges covering 18 congregations that worship within 22 churches. The Presbytery predominantly serves rural congregations while also having two more substantial communities of Peebles and Galashiels. The Presbytery is the largest of three Scottish Border Presbyteries, with Duns Presbytery to its east and Jedburgh Presbytery to its south.


We are currently without a full-time minister and are actively working with the Presbytery as it develops a new plan for all the churches and minister positions within its area. In the meantime, we are delighted that Rev Elspeth Harley is acting as our interim Moderator and that Rev Jim Wallace is serving as Locum minister.


interim moderator


Reverend Elspeth Harley  Tel.  01896 758 485 (email: eharley@churchofscotland.org.uk)

Elsepth has been the minister of Caddonfoot and Galashiels Trinity since January 2014. 

She  was born and brought up in Edinburgh, and lived briefly in Glasgow, before going to Botswana with Ewen and their two children. She then studied at the ecumenical college in Gaborone before returning to completing her studies in Edinburgh.  She spent 10 years as minister of the United Reformed Church in Glasgow and was then invited to teach ministry students in Samoa.

Elspeth moved back to Aberdeen and had a variety of part-time ministries. She set up a Messsy Church, served as a school chaplain, and has a keen interest in organisations like Fair Trade and Christian Aid.

Minister (Locum)

 Reverend Jim Wallace Tel.  01896 831637 (email:  jimwallace121@btinternet.com

Jim was born in Greenock and brought up in Inverkeithing in Fife where he attended Dunfermline High School. He studied at Edinburgh University for his MA and then BD Honours in Systematic Theology. In 1973 he began his ministry at Lochcraig Parish Church in Central Fife near Lochgelly and then in 1983 was called to Peebles, St Andrews Leckie where he served until his retirement in 2011. He is married to Marjorie and they have two daughters and one son with 6 grandchildren ranging in ages from 18 to 3. Jim and Marjorie now live in Innerleithen. 

Session Clerk

Nora Hunter  (email: info@ettrickandyarrow.church


Jean Guthrie

Fabric Conveyner

Roy Storie


Andy Wright


 The Kirk Session comprises the following Elders: 

  • Gordon Beveridge 
  • Alison Blackadder 
  • Ann Blundell 
  • Chris Carroll 
  • Elizabeth Davidson 
  • Nora Hunter 
  • George Jack 
  • Lucile MacLeod 
  • Sylvia Shouesmith 
  • Lord David Steel
  • Roy Storie 
  • Jane Telfer 
  • Caryl Thompson 
  • Susan White 
  • Lindsay Wilson 
  • Andy Wright 

In addition, the following Groups exist to support our Congregation, enhance our Ministry and develop our Church:

  • Ministry Group ( Alison Blackadder, Ann Blundell, Nora Hunter, Andy Wright)
  • Fundraising (Alison Blackadder)
  • Education (Ann Blundell)
  • Pastoral Group (Lindsay Wilson, Jim Wallace, Elizabeth Davidson)
  • Safeguarding (Susan White)
  • Churches Together in Selkirk and Valleys (CTSV) (Nora Hunter)